top of page

Embracing Me "I am not my hair"


India Arie Song has always spoken to my soul from a little girl to now a grown woman. As women it is difficult to come to terms with our body changing. Or our body not living up to our standards of how the world wants to envision us. Alopecia balding seems to affect the woman in my family at any age and losing your hair is not easy for anyone. As a child I did not have this issue, but I did get picked on because my hair wasn't long enough...... Growing up with insecurities was very stressful and put a strain on my childhood to adulthood. I always saw myself in a beautiful light, but I didn't understand why so many people was trying to put me in the dark. Every shade of black or any color is beautiful in my eyes. As a child I was too dark, too tall, too smart and too happy in the hater's eyes. I allowed their hateful words to rent space in my head and impact my view of myself. I tried to change, but I am a rainbow. I am and will forever be different. It took years for me to see to embrace this beautiful chocolate skin, gap, voice, and hair.

Now I am embracing my newly shaved side and loving the woman I see and my spiritual growth. With each step I grow more into my own and my magic grows within. No matter what others think of you, just know you are beautiful and loved. Your journey is your testimony and someone else's blessing to hear. Don't allow them to dim your light baby.....shine shine shine on!!!!!!

bottom of page